Related Projects

There is a series of projects, which employ the Care-O-bot® and rob@work systems as a demonstrator or contribute to their development.

 

BakeR

Modular system for cost-efficient cleaning robots

In the BakeR project service robot technologies for cleaning robots will be further developed to drive them towards market readiness. The aim is to build a modular cleaning robot with a mobile platform that detects the cleaning modules automatically and adapts its functionality to them.

 

SECURE

Safety Enables Cooperation in Uncertain Robotic Environments

SECURE analyzes how the safety of assistance robots in domestic use can be increased. Within the scope of the research platform Care-O-bot® 4 the scientists of Fraunhofer IPA work on the topics environment reconstruction and mobile manipulation.

 

 

SeRoDi

Service Robotics providing support for personal services

The intelligent use of service robotics in elderly care facilities or hospitals can relieve nursing staff from daily routine and physically exhausting tasks and reduce walking distances. In particular, three scenarios shall be realized: an intelligent care cart that navigates autonomously to the usage site and documents automatically the use of care utensils, a multifunctional person lifter with assistive functions as well as a service assistant, which provides drinks and snacks to inhabitants and patients. A first implementation of the care cart is based on the Care-O-bot®-4-platform.

 

PRACE

The Productive Robot Apprentice

The goal of this project is to develop a mobile two-arm assistance system for automation of manual production processes in a manufacturing environment. The PRACE concept basically relies on robot learning by demonstration. The project demonstrator is based on the rob@work 3 platform.

 

ACCOMPANY

The ACCOMPANY system consists of a robotic companion as part of an intelligent environment, providing services to elderly users in a motivating and socially acceptable manner to facilitate independent living at home. Care-O-bot 3 is used as application platform. User studies are included to advance further development of the robot in line with user requirements.
 

R3-COP

The goal of the project is to provide european industry with new leading-edge innovation that will enable the production of advanced robust and safe cognitive, reasoning autonomous and co-operative robotic systems at reduced cost. Fraunhofer IPA focusses on the development of key technologies for assistance systems, specifically Care-O-bot 3. Technologies and components like for example robust perception and collision free manipulation are developed.
 

AutoPnP

Plug and Play for Automation Systems

Target of the AutoPnP project is the development of a standardized software architecture allowing dynamic integration of different hardware and software components. This infrastructure should enhance the simple and efficient programming and adaptation of complex systems in dynamic application fields. Care-O-bot 3 applied to an office cleaning scenario is one of the demonstrators.

 

SRS

Multi-Role Shadow Robotic System for Independent Living

The SRS project focuses on the development and prototyping of a remotely-controlled, semi-autonomous service robot to support elderly people in domestic environments. The implementation is based on Care-O-bot 3. By remote controlling the robot, the users, e.g. the children or relatives of an elderly person, can provide active support, for example with fetch and carry tasks.

 

Echord InterAid

Interactive Mobile Manipulators for Advanced Industrial Diagnostics

The main goal of InterAID was to demonstrate the feasibility of applying mobile robots with manipulation capabilities to advanced diagnosis and quality control in industrial environments. The application environment was the reliability lab of a white goods factory producing washing machines. The mobile robot was equipped with an arm and a gripper as well as several 3D sensors for observing the environment and had to solve different tasks. The task of Fraunhofer IPA was the development of suitable algorithms for 3D environment perception and collision-free arm motion.

 

BRICS

Best Practice in Robotics

was a European Union funded research project, which aimed on formalizing and structuring the robot development process itself. One goal was to provide tools, models and libraries that simplify the development process significantly. Care-O-bot 3 is one of the robot platforms used within BRICS to perform experiments regarding the evaluation of the developed toolchain.

 

WIMI-Care

Förderung des Wissenstransfers für eine aktive Mitgestaltung des Pflegesektors durch Mikrosystemtechnik

The WiMi-Care project aimed on fostering the transfer of robotics technologies into the elderly care sector. Two application scenarios were implemented on Care-O-bot 3: providing drinks of water for the residents and use of the robot as an entertainment platform.

 

DESIRE

Deutsche Servicerobotik Initiative

was a BMBF(Federal Ministry of Education and Research) funded research initiative with a strong focus on systems integration and software-architecture. In this broad scale project 13 partners from universities, diverse research institutes and industry were integrating software on a shared experimental platform. Care-O-bot 3 has inherited several of its system components, e.g. the omnidirectional drive system, from the DESIRE experimental setup.

 

COGNIRON

The Cognitive Robot Companion

was funded by the European Union as part of their “Beyond Robotics” work program. The focus of COGNIRON was the study of the perceptual, representational, reasoning and learning capabilities of embodied robots. At Fraunhofer IPA Care-O-bot 3 was used for the real-life evaluation of the developed algorithms.

Verwandte Projekte

Es gibt eine Reihe von Projekten, welche die Care-O-bot® und rob@work Systeme als Demonstrator nutzen oder einen Beitrag zu ihrer Weiterentwicklung leisten.

 

BakeR

Baukastensystem für kosteneffiziente, modulare Reinigungsroboter

Im Projekt »Baker« werden Serviceroboter-Technologien für Reinigungsroboter weiterentwickelt, um einen Beitrag zu deren Marktreife zu leisten. Ziel ist der Aufbau eines modularen Reinigungsroboters mit mobiler Basisplattform, der die Module automatisch erkennt und seine Funktionalität daran anpasst.

 

SECURE

Safety Enables Cooperation in Uncertain Robotic Environments

SECURE untersucht, wie sich die Sicherheit von lernenden kommunikativen Assistenzrobotern im häuslichen Bereich erhöhen lässt. Am Fraunhofer IPA arbeiten Wissenschaftler dabei mit der Forschungsplattform Care-O-bot 4 an den Themen Umgebungserfassung und mobile Manipulation.

 

SeRoDi

Servicerobotik zur Unterstützung bei personenbezogenen Dienstleistungen

Durch den intelligenten Einsatz von Servicerobotern in der Alten- und Krankenpflege sollen Pflegekräfte von Routinetätigkeiten und körperlich anstrengenden Aufgaben entlastet und Laufwege reduziert werden. Insbesondere sollen die folgenden drei Anwendungsszenarien in die Praxis umgesetzt werden: ein intelligenter Pflegewagen, der autonom zum Einsatzort fährt und den Verbrauch von Pflegematerialen automatisch dokumentiert, ein multifunktionaler Personenlifter mit Assistenzfunktionen sowie ein Serviceassistent, der den Bewohnern oder Patienten Getränke und Snacks liefert. Eine erste Umsetzung des Pflegewagens fand auf Basis der Care-O-bot®-4-Plattform statt.

 

PRACE

Mobiler Produktionsassistent

Ziel dieses Projekts ist die Entwicklung eines mobilen, zweiarmigen Assistenzsystems zur Automatisierung von manuellen Fertigungsprozessen in der Produktion. Das PRACE-Konzept basiert auf der Idee des Lernens durch Vormachen, als Demonstrator wird rob@work 3 genutzt.

 

ACCOMPANY

Das ACCOMPANY-System soll aus einem „Roboter-Gefährten“ als Teil einer intelligenten Wohnumgebung bestehen, der auf motivierende und sozial akzeptable Weise älteren Menschen das unabhängige Leben zuhause vereinfacht. Als Anwendungsplattform dient Care-O-bot 3. Durch die kontinuierliche Einbeziehung des Nutzers und regelmäßige Evaluierung der Projektergebnisse soll gewährleistet werden, dass die Entwicklung nicht technologiegetrieben, sondern nutzerzentriert erfolgt.
 

R3-COP

Das Ziel des Projekts ist die Versorgung der europäischen Industrie mit modernsten Methoden und Technologien um die Produktion robuster, zuverlässiger und sicherer autonomer Robotersysteme bei reduzierten Kosten zu ermöglichen. Der Fokus des Fraunhofer IPA liegt auf der Entwicklung wichtiger Schlüsseltechnologien für autonome Assistenzsysteme, insbesondere Care-O-bot 3. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden Technologien und Komponenten wie z. B. robuste Wahrnehmung oder kollisionsfreie Manipulation weiterentwickelt.
 

AutoPnP

Plug&Play für Automatisierungssysteme

Das Forschungsvorhaben AutoPnP setzt sich zum Ziel, eine Software-Architektur zur Integration von Hard- und Softwarekomponenten zu entwerfen. Dadurch sollen komplexe Systeme einfacher, schneller und kosteneffizienter entwickelt und an dynamische Einsatzfelder angepasst werden. Einer der Demonstratoren des Projekts ist Care-O-bot 3, auf dem ein Anwendungsszenario zur Büroreinigung umgesetzt wird.

 

SRS

Häusliche Unterstützung mittels teilautonomer Serviceroboter

Ziel des Projekts war die Entwicklung und Erprobung eines teleoperierten, teilautonomen Serviceroboters, der in der Lage ist ältere Personen im häuslichen Umfeld zu unterstützen. Die Umsetzung erfolgte auf Basis von Care-O-bot 3. Durch Fernsteuerung des Roboters können Benutzer, z.B. der Kinder oder Verwandten der zu versorgenden Person, aktive Unterstützung bieten, beispielsweise indem sie diesen Hol- und Bringdienste übernehmen lassen.

 

Echord InterAid

Interactive Mobile Manipulators for Advanced Industrial Diagnostics

Das Projekt InterAID demonstriert, wie mobile Roboter für komplexere Aufgaben in der Diagnose und Qualitätskontrolle in industriellen Umgebungen eingesetzt werden können. Als Anwendungsszenario fungiert ein Labor, in welchem Waschmaschinen getestet werden. Ein mobiler Roboter mit Arm wird dafür eingesetzt, die Maschinen zu bedienen und Messungen diagnostischer Daten durchzuführen. Der Fokus des Fraunhofer IPA lag auf der Entwicklung geeigneter Methoden für die 3D-Umgebungserfassung und kollisionsfreie Armplanung.

 

BRICS

Best Practice in Robotics

Das Projekt BRICS wurde von der Europäischen Union geförder und zielte darauf ab, den Entwicklungsprozess in der Robotik zu strukturieren und zu formalisieren. Hierzu sollten Methoden, Werkzeuge, Rechenmodelle und funktionale Bibliotheken zur Verfügung gestellt werden, so dass Zeit- und Entwicklungsaufwand stark reduziert werden können.

 

WIMI-Care

Förderung des Wissenstransfers für eine aktive Mitgestaltung des Pflegesektors durch Mikrosystemtechnik

Im Rahmen des Projekts wurden Einsatzszenarien für mobile Roboter zur Unterstützung des Pflegepersonals stationärer Altenpflegeeinrichtungen erarbeitet. Auf Care-O-bot 3 wurden Szenarien zur Versorgung der Bewohner mit Getränken sowie für den Einsatz des Roboters als Unterhaltungsplattform umgesetzt.

 

DESIRE

Deutsche Servicerobotik Initiative

DESIRE war eine vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Forschungsinitiative mit Fokus auf Systemintegration und Softwarearchitektur. Ein Hauptziel des Verbundprojekts DESIRE war die Weiterentwicklung von Schlüsselkomponenten wie robuste Wahrnehmung und mobile Manipulation in Richtung Alltagstauglichkeit Im Rahmen des Projekts wurde eine modulare Architektur für mobile Manipulation geschaffen, die insbesondere wiederverwendbare Steuerungskomponenten, Mechanismen und Eigenmodelle für Systemkomponenten zur Verfügung stellt.

 

COGNIRON

The Cognitive Robot Companion

Das Projekt COGNIRON wurde von der Europäischen Union gefördert und beschäftigte sich mit der Entwicklung von Assistenzrobotern, die den Menschen im täglichen Leben unterstützen. Dabei lag ein besonderer Fokus auf der Wahrnehmungs- und Lernfähigkeit der Roboter. Am Fraunhofer IPA wurden die entwickelten Algorithmen auf der Care-O-bot 3 Plattform erprobt und ausgewertet.